FCCA Film Critics Circle of Australia Logo

2019 FCCA Awards for Australian Film

The Nightingale, producers Kristina Ceyton, Steve Hutensky, Jennifer Kent, Bruna Papandrea, was announced as Best Film by Film Critics Circle of Australia in their annual Awards for Australian Film, presented on Monday night. The film’s star Aisling Franciosi was awarded the Best Actress Award.


David Michôd was presented with the Universal Pictures Award for Best Director for The King, while Joel Edgerton picked up the Best Actor Supporting Role Award. Together, Michôd and Edgerton won the Bunya Productions Award for Best Screenplay (original or adapted).


Damon Herriman picked up the Toil Films Award for Best Actor for his role in Judy and Punch.


Danger Close: The Battle Of Long Tan received three craft awards, with Best Cinematography to Ben Nott ACS, the AGSC Award for Best Original Score to Caitlin Yeo and Best Editor to Veronika Jenet


The MB Films Award for Best Actress Supporting Role went to Ursula Yovich for her outstanding performance in Top End Wedding.


The Kudos Knowledge Award for Best Feature Documentary was shared by two films, The Final Quarter (Director Ian Darling, Producers Mary Macrae, Ian Darling) and Martha, A Picture Story (Director Selina Miles, Producer Daniel Joyce).


The Awards were hosted by Actor Les Asmussen, and presenters included Lorraine Bayly, Gary Sweet, Jeremy Sims, Kim Knukey, Matthew Frawley and Robina Beard.


Director, producer, writer Rolf de Heer was honoured with a special award in recognition of a unique body of work and its contribution to Australian cinema.


FCCA’s Adrienne McKibbins said “Over the years the FCCA has presented a number of special awards to individuals who have contributed something outstanding /exceptional through their work to cinema and film culture. This is not a Life Achievement Award, as a number of recipients – including Rolf, we hope – are only part way through their career.”



The 2019 FCCA Awards for Australian Film are kingly supported by Kudos Knowledge, Universal Pictures, MB Films, Currency Press, Bunya Productions, Truly Tasmanian, Toil Films and the AGSC.



A full list of nominees can be seen here.



All information regarding the awards night please contact Adrienne McKibbins at filmcriticsaust@bigpond.com.