FCCA Film Critics Circle of Australia Logo


The FCCA exists to add support to Australian film culture, to provide a forum for issues affecting film and filmgoers (such as film classification and censorship), to participate in international critics juries, and assist Australian film festivals with international jury representation, and to provide professional support for critics.


• To promote excellence and integrity in the art of film criticism

• To support the advancement of Australian and international film culture

• To recognise outstanding achievement in Australian film through the Annual Awards presentation.

Annual Awards

The major public activity of the FCCA is the prestigious FCCA Annual Awards for Australian Film – features and feature documentaries. The FCCA Awards are unique in that they have strong support from across the film industry spectrum.  Whilst recognising the creative inputs of the Australian film industry the Awards are also supported by different areas of the film industry and film culture sector.


As the Australian industry has grown so have the awards, which are voted on by all FCCA members and constitute a significant indicator of a film’s success. They are Australia’s truly independent film awards, voted on solely by film critics, not by the industry or by a section of the film going public.


This has led to the Awards being highly respected for recognising and rewarding originality and excellence in all its categories.


Members of the FCCA include personalities from media, television, major national and state papers, radio, national and state, online and freelance writers, Australian representatives from international magazines like Variety and Screen International and local specialist film magazines.

Executive Committee 2024

FCCA Executive CJ Johnson


CJ Johnson

FCCA Executive Rose Capp


Rose Capp

FCCA Executive Katherine Tulich


Katherine Tulich

FCCA Executive Ian Phipps


Ian Phipps

FCCA Executive Rod Quinn


Rod Quinn

FCCA Executive Paolo Remati


Paolo Remati

FCCA Executive Adrienne McKibbins

Administrator & Awards Manager

Adrienne McKibbins