FCCA Film Critics Circle of Australia Logo

Film Critics Circle of Australia Award Nominees Revealed

The Film Critics Circle of Australia (FCCA) has today announced the nominees for all categories of its annual FCCA Awards for Australian Films of 2022 – features and feature documentaries. The prestigious awards recognise the creative inputs of the Australian film industry and are supported by different areas of the film industry and culture sector. The winners will be announced on Tuesday 28 February, 2023. 


Highly respected for recognising and rewarding originality and excellence, the FCCA Awards are Australia’s truly independent film awards voted on solely by film critic members and constitute a significant indicator of a film’s success. 


FCCA Awards manager, Adrienne McKibbins said: “The outstanding feature of the Australian films of 2022 is the high calibre of acting. Our best actors, whether leads or supporting, shone in a wide range of genres that in turn highlight the versatility of their talent. Whether a bio pic, a crime thriller, an urban family drama, or an outback tale, our actors successfully rose to the challenges set by our valued writers and directors. 


“Similarly, the standard of Australian documentary features was extremely high. We are blessed to have such a range of talented documentarians that approach their varied subjects with fearlessness and sensitivity.”


The full list of the FCCA’s Annual Awards of the Films of 2022 nominees include:


Best Film

The Drover’s Wife (Prod. Leah Purcell, Bain Stewart, David Jowsey, Greer Simpkin, Angela Littlejohn)

Elvis (Prod. Baz Luhrmann, Catherine Martin, Gail Berman)

Here Out West (Prod. Annabel Davis, Sheila Jayadev, Bree-Anne Sykes)

The Stranger (Prod. Joel Edgerton, Iain Canning, Kim Hodgert, Emile Sherman, Rachel Gardner, Kerry Kohansky-Roberts)


Best Director

Baz Luhrmann – Elvis

Leah Purcell – The Drover’s Wife

Thomas M Wright – The Stranger


Best Actress

Krew Boylan – Seriously Red

Ella Newton – Girl At The Window

Leah Purcell – The Drover’s Wife


Best Actor

Austin Butler – Elvis

Rob Collins – The Drover’s Wife

Joel Edgerton – The Stranger


Best Actor Supporting Role 

Simon Baker – Blaze

Sean Harris – The Stranger

Anthony Hayes – Gold

Rasmus King – Bosch & Rockit


Best Actress Supporting Role

Jessica De Gouw – The Drover’s Wife

Karis Oka – Girl At The Window

Yael Stone – Blaze

Leeanna Walsman – Bosch & Rockit 


Best Cinematography

Sam Chiplin – The Stranger

Mandy Walker ASC ACS – Elvis 

Mark Wareham ACS – The Drover’s Wife


Best Screenplay

Baz Luhrmann, Sam Bromell, Craig Pearce, Jeremy Doner – Elvis

Leah Purcell – The Drover’s Wife

Thomas M Wright – The Stranger


Best Documentary Feature

The Lost City Of Melbourne (Dir. and Prod. Gus Berger)

Man On Earth (Dir. Amiel Courtin-Wilson, Prod. Alice Jamieson-Dowd, Amiel Courtin-Wilson)

No Bad Guys (Dir. George Gittoes, Prod. George Gittoes, Hellen Rose)

Senses Of Cinema (Dir. and Prod. John Hughes, Tom Zubrycki)

Volcano Man (Dir. James Crawley, Prod. Rhian Skirving, Tim Russell)



– ENDS –


MEDIA ENQUIRIES | NIXCO | P: 02 8399 0626 | E: info@nixco.com.au



The FCCA exists to add support to Australian film culture, to provide a forum for issues affecting film and filmgoers (such as film classification and censorship), to participate in international critics juries, and assist Australian film festivals with international jury representation, and to provide professional support for critics. Visit fcca.com.au for more.